jesus is the anti-christ

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the broken-hearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised, to preach the acceptable year of the Lord.” – Luke 4: 18, 19

Those were the very first words Jesus spoke in public. He had just returned after his triumph over the devil’s temptations, entered Nazareth’s synagogue on the Sabbath, opened the Scriptures, and read from Isaiah. His ministry officially began at that moment.

Odd, then, that church leaders from multiple and diverse denominations should have to defend themselves for following the words of the Great Teacher. Odder still, that they should have to defend the church against the rantings of one of Fox News’ loudest voices – Glenn Beck. Recently, Glenn urged his groupies to leave any church that so much as hinted at social justice. These dens of iniquity are nothing short of communist hideouts.

Among those who jumped to Jesus’ defense, were progressive Rev. Jim Wallis, president of Sojourners, Pastor Marty Duren, of the Southern Baptist Convention, and none other than Jerry Falwell Jr., president of Liberty University. It’s truly a miracle that these people would agree on anything.

If Glenn is correct, he’ll discover that heaven is a very lonely place:

13 responses to “jesus is the anti-christ

  1. eric bjorlin March 14, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Unfortunately, according to the CNN article, it looks like Falwell doesn’t so much oppose Beck as clarify things a bit. It’s the question of whether we should use government to bring about our religious beliefs — which evangelicals seem to have no problem doing with abortion and homosexuality issues, but apparently economic justice is another issue…

  2. 12stepgolf March 16, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Social justice, huh?

    “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the broken-hearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised, to preach the acceptable year of the Lord.” – Luke 4: 18, 19

    ………and this has what to do with social justice? I think you have a problem with interpretation.

    The passage is to inform those poor and brokenhearted and captives and blink and bruised that they have inalienable rights to pursue life liberty and pursuit of happiness-to get out from under the thumb of the laws set by the governing body-the Pharisees and and Sadducees-those who have imposed the LAW. It is not by the law that will set one free. Freedom is in one’s heart not in the laws.

    Jesus came and was crucified for my sins and your sins and anyone else. Because of him you don’t crucify me and I no longer have to crucify you, etc.

    There can never be social justice-never, because someone will always be treated unjust. What is justice for one is unjust to another-and who is the arbitrator to tell me what is just or unjust. Who among us has every answer to every question ever asked?

    Social Justice is in the mind of the individual. Social Justice is a theory of man who is fallible.

    Since you mention Lesbians-they have the right to be Lesbians. I don’t need to know the sexuality of anyone-do heterosexuals action get in one’s face and say “you gays better accept me”? No, they go about their daily life not thinking about their sexuality 24/7.

    Think beyond the preaching of this so called Social Justice thing.

    • noh8 March 16, 2010 at 12:51 pm

      Without doubt, Conservative Christians are the Pharisees of today.

    • Cats r Flyfishn March 19, 2010 at 7:41 am

      You made a losing argument. There is a huge difference in how our society treats heterosexuals and homosexuals. Heterosexuals don’t have to get into people’s face and shout “you gays better accept me” because heterosexuals aren’t discriminated against or beaten and murder just because of their sexual identity and heterosexuals have rights that are denied to homosexuals just because of sexual orientation. If you hate “the gay” so much, you need to come up with a better argument to defend your position and it needs to be something that is NOT connected to religion.

      We all have our own religious beliefs and I will not allow you to step on my spiritual beliefs because it may not be in sync with yours. As far as I am concerned, no one had to be “crucified” to die for my sins. If that happened, then that would give me freedom to act irresponsibly because I won’t be held accountable for my behavior. Someone else already paid the price. Instead, I assume responsibility for my thoughts and actions.

      I feel sorry for you. Your statement regarding “social justice” makes you sound like a selfish person. You must not have many real friends. Only kindness, giving and sharing creates true friends.

  3. themadjewess March 17, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    I didnt know that social justice is in the Christian Bible?

    I thought that Jesus told his followers to take their sword, sandals and wallet for the 2nd journey, that would mean personal responsibility, right?

    I think the church in America does not do its job. If it did do its job correctly then there would be no homeless, jobless, etc.

    • noh8 March 17, 2010 at 11:25 pm

      I think you can interpret different passages of the Bible say whatever you want.
      That’s one of many reasons I’m an agnostic.

      • themadjewess March 18, 2010 at 11:37 am

        I dont go to the Temple/Synagogue.
        I hate organized religion. I dont like church either, to much mind control.
        I enjoy reading the Torah, Tanach and the New Testament because it is the most profound book EVER.
        If people would only do what it says, this world would be a better place–I mean the good aspects. The bad, I believe, were for saving people. There are definitely evil people, and I am sure that God knew/knows this.

  4. themadjewess March 19, 2010 at 9:33 am

    I dont agree with the Homosexual lifestyle. I have many friends that are homo, my own uncle was homo. It does not stop me from loving the person.
    I didnt know they didnt have ‘equal rights’ Every homo. I have know does not complain about this.

    They are worried about their nation, food on the table, etc. Most of the homos. I know just want to have their life, and dont bother me. They do not believe that they should be married. Why? They feel that only a minority of them are really ‘homo.’ and most of the younger ones are screwed up from indoctrination.

    The bible, in both the Torah AND the N.T. make it clear about what God thinks of this, written and inspied. I believe it. So, pushing this on churches that are against it is bully and tyrannical.

    BTW: homo.=short for homosexual.

    • noh8 March 19, 2010 at 10:36 am

      In Virginia, the issue is whether or not they should lose their jobs just because they were born differently. I don’t think they should.
      As for the rest, I guess it’s above my pay-grade!

Leave a Reply

